You’d think “go home, get into bed” would be good news.

While I was pregnant with Bug my BP was high.  It was high through the whole pregnancy and fairly consistent so my doctor watched me and we took it a visit at a time.    This time around I’m much thinner, eat much better, work out and drink lots of water so watching my BP was really a caution given my history.

Or so I thought.   On Thursday I developed contractions that would start if I was on my feet more than 20 to 30 minutes at a time.  On Saturday a headache that wouldn’t go away took hold.  I took it easy all weekend, well as easy as one can with a 3 year old bouncing off of walls can.

Today after a call to my doctor she suggested that I should come in to get my BP checked because the headache worried her much more than the contractions which she thinks are probably round ligament paint.  Personally I’m thinking more Braxton Hicks.   Not that this at all matters.

I go to her office and a nurse takes me to a room and takes my BP, she goes to show it to the doctor who then wants a urine sample.  You know that can’t really be a good thing right?  After a cup of water and a few moments of waiting the nurse has what she needs and comes back to see me after Doc has gone over that with the BP.
The verdict?  Go home, bed rest until Wednesday when I have another appointment.  She’s pretty sure this is only a precaution and that after a few days off my feet my BP will go down.  I really hope so because, let me tell you, the idea of a doctor telling you that you can’t cook or clean is really awesome.  The reality is that I don’t have a maid or a live in nanny.

And you know, you really don’t realize how much you do during the average day at home until you can’t.  Do you know how long it actually takes to cook a box of mac n cheese?  Or how long it really takes to shower?  Luckily I’m not on total bed rest so I can get up, go to the bathroom, shower and chill on the couch.  I cannot imagine how bad it would be if I couldn’t even get up to get a glass of water on my own.  Kudos for you mom’s who have.

In the mean time,  Jelly Bean is gonna stick tight and has been having a fantastic day rolling around in her mommy’s tummy.  And I’m making the mistake of watching the food network.

One thought on “You’d think “go home, get into bed” would be good news.

Leave a Reply

