Why I love Holiday weekends

I love long Holiday weekends and it’s not because I don’t have to go to work for three days. It’s because I can accomplish things.

When there are three days when I can take care of the house, play with Kyle and run errands I can actually take a nap and spread the housework love. And hell, I have time for a bath!

And this one was even more productive. Jason’s mom took Kyle over night on New Year’s Eve. I’d love to say we went out and spent the night being crazy and free but I was in bed by 12:30am and slept until 9:30ish. It felt so wonderful to wake up and not feel like I would trade a kidney for another 15 minutes.

Not only did this and last years nominee for Best Mother-in-Law take Private over night but she hung out with him all day. I was able to do laundry, change bedding and clean the kitchen without guilt.

Today started well again. Kyle woke mommy up with kisses and so far I’ve made a pit of turkey noodle soup, cleaned and purged a cabinet and cleaned a counter top. This afternoon Kyle wants to make cookies so the butter is softening.

The older I get the more I understand that there is a lot of joy to be found in just being with no hurry, no pressing needs. I’ve got a little guy dancing to the music with egg and chocolate on his face. It’s not just me showing him new things in life, it’s him reminding me of old thing.

Leave a Reply

