Dinner on the cheap

As we all know the price of food is hovering somewhere around the less expensive than the Hope Diamond and more expensive than caviar range.  Seeing as I’ve been cheap in my old age and Jason enjoys eating as much food as I can cook I began making food cheap before this new “let’s not have the grocery bill mean we can’t pay the house note” fad.  So I share with you my friends a few of my “Dinner on the Cheap” recipes.

This first one I have to give credit to Dr. K for inspiering.  He gave me the idea for the base but I took it a step further.  Orignially it was meant as a side dish.

1/2 lb ground beef.  (How do I get that you ask?  Why my darlings you buy the big ‘ol fat package of ground beef but split it up into about 5 small zip lock bags.)

OR

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts.

2 cups cooked rice (not instant)

1/2 jar salsa

1 can chick peas

1 can black beans, drained

1/2 white onion diced

salt and pepper to taste

Cheddar cheese for garnish

Oven 350

Brown beef or chicken.  If I use chicken I like to bake it in the oven.  Drain beef.  If you use chicken shred it.

In casserole dish mix cooked rice, salsa, beans and chick peas.  Add beef.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Bake in oven for 20 mins.  Top with cheese and bake for 10 more minutes.

This makes enough that even Jason can’t finish it.  Plus you use very little meat and beans so it’s a healthier  meal than hamburger helper.  Not only that but you can make it vegetarian by removing the beef and adding another can of peas or beans.

Leave a Reply

