It’s been a while

Yeah, it’s been a while since I updated this blog.  Not because nothing has been going on but because by the time I can sit on my computer I want to mow down little elves bowling and then go to bed.

Two weeks ago I started a new job.  It’s a good job, medical billing.  I’m following up on unpaid insurance claims and I’m damn good at it.  So far my boss is impressed by how I jumped in and ran with the ball and how I’m actually getting some issues resolved.  Seems the two people who did it before me wouldn’t do anything if it looked complicated they’d just rebill it and rebill it and ignore it.  Sadly I’m looking at an account now that we will probably have to eat about 4k on.  Stuff like that pisses me off.

It’s a 40 hour a week gig.  It’s not going over well on my fibro though.  So far I’m dealing with it ok and I’m going to be going to my doctor to see about the new meds they have on the market.  Just to give you an idea how of often I actually take prescriptions, I found one, with only 4 pills gone, that had a date on it of 2005.  I figure once I start walking that path it becomes almost impossible to step off of it and for the most part I can manage things with over the counter stuff and rest and exercise.  Yes, I’m exercising.  Well, putting Kyle in his stroller and walking but that is exercise.

Tonight Jason and I have a meeting and Church to officially become members.  He was a member but because he went inactive they removed him.  I was a member at another church years ago but like many 20 somethings I got ambivalent about going.  I went through a period where I never stopped believing in God but stopped believing in Church.  In recent years I began to become interested in making it part of our lives again and when I had Kyle that corked it.  My parents never went on a regular basis so I grew up only going sporadically and I don’t want that for my son.  Jason grew up with a father who seemed to feel that you had to go to Church but it was an obligation and a chore.  He also seems to have used his Catholicism against his kids and his ex wife.  As if a man who hides his assets to screw his ex over is a real Christian.  But he was one of “those”.  At least from what I can gather.  Jason almost never speaks of his father but when he does it’s in pretty negative terms.

And in some ways I’m sort of glad his father was such a shithead.  Unlike some kids who grow up with one parental figure who checks out, Jason is hell bent on not being his dad.  And is probably way more interested in doing things with his son because he wants too, not because he feels it’s it’s fatherly obligation.

Anyway, it’s birthday month here.  My mom, dad, sister and my two eldest nieces all have birthday’s this month.  So happy birthday to them all!

Kyle has started solid foods!  At first I thought perhaps he was ready physically but not emotionally.  He fought, he spit and he made the Mr. Poison face.  But on the third night he was screaming at me if I didn’t shovel it in fast enough for him and stretching forward to meet the spoon with his face.  So far he just loves his rice cereal mixed with apple juice, he’s ok with banana’s and he seems to enjoy carrots.

It’s funny because he looks so much like me and my dad and his family.  This was something we never expected in a million years.  Yeah he might look like me but he’s his daddy in expression and personality.  He’s so laid back and easy going and such a boy.  He likes it when you bounce him, I put him on my bed and brace my arms around him and go “Bounce! BOUNCE!” and he just smiles so big.  He likes being dirty, enjoys to play flying baby and all these other ‘rough’ games.  He’s as generally happy as his daddy is and eats like his daddy too.  Talk about a baby who seems to have gotten the best of his mom and dad.  Now don’t get me wrong, my husband is hot but Jason’s personality is by far the thing I love most about him.  His pleasant, easy going, go with the flow.

While I would never consider my self hot or even overly pretty if I had to choose Kyle looking like me or having my personality, I’d choose looks hands down.  I’m over emotional, obsessive, retentive and given to periods of depression and deep self doubt.  So when I say he’s got the best of us I’m really saying God reached in and helped us make a son who is the best reflection of his mom and dad.

He’s also discovered getting onto his hands and knees, and my father swears he took two crawls forward the other day.  Lord help us.  He’s already inch worming across the floor and chewing on daddy’s XBox controller cord is a favorite pass time for him.  When he starts to actually crawl I have a feeling that he’s going to be one of those kids who will find everything, destroy everything and claim everything as his.  I’ve said it many times but I’ll say it again, I have a feeling our toddler years will be loads of fun.

Leave a Reply

